sign in. write. track. sign out. repeat.

22 Feb

…all of this in an effort to obsessively monitor information.

“Oh, use google reader, it’ll help you keep track of all the blogs!” Okk…I thought that was what delicious was for?! So if delicious is for bookmarking blogs and comments…then why have the reader? Shouldn’t delicious (or nutritious, as one of my colleagues calls it) do what the reader does? Shouldn’t it track everything I need to track?

On top of my e-mail accounts for varying purposes, I am summoned to keep track of Facebook, Myspace, ‘The blogs’ (mine, my peers, the industry), Linked In, the delicious, the Twitter, the Reader, etc…one could easily spend a good three or four hours on the computer repeatedly logging on, updating, bookmarking, commenting, saving, uploading, categorizing, messaging, in-taking and out-putting – it’s verging on sensory overload. I mean, I’m in no way ‘old’, but there are just too many usernames and I’m beginning to lose track of the passwords. What does age me to some degree is when I catch myself saying, “I remember the good ol’ archaic days of pen & paper.” Maybe I need a page that tracks all my usernames and password information…

I’m tempted to suggest yet another application that is some type of combination of Facebook/Wordpress that has the capabilities of a twitter/delicious/google reader. Perhaps an application that doesn’t just serve one purpose – but several merged together! One that has a ‘real person’ setting, where I can have the music, interests, with pictures of myself happy with friends – then an optional ‘professional’ setting which is more conservative, less vibrant and less colourful. All of this, so I can micromanage my varying personas and blogs in one website, one username one password.

There are too simply many websites to tend to, and frankly at the end of the night after going into a million websites – I feel that it’s an inefficient use of my time. Isn’t technology supposed to make our lives easier and more convenient?

There has to be a better way!

8 Responses to “sign in. write. track. sign out. repeat.”

  1. Rayanne Langdon February 23, 2008 at '23:04' #

    Dude, basically anything you can think of has been invented online. I know it seems very complicated and confusing, but these things were created to keep track of things. They just don’t want to leave you behind : )

    No, Google Reader and del.icio.us do not serve the same purpose. If you subscribe to a blog on Google Reader, you can see when someone has updated. You don’t have to visit everyone’s blog in order to see what is new.

    del.icio.us is simply for bookmarking articles you find interesting and want to visit again. It isn’t meant to let you know when something new has happened.

    All I can suggest is to get to know these things when you first learn of them. You’re not going to like everything, but it’s helpful to understand what they do and how they can be used. If you had tried out Reader before writing this, you’d have known the difference : )

  2. staffeen thompson February 24, 2008 at '1:41' #

    Hey lady! Oh I am familiar what each does, my discourse simply begs the question – why aren’t they together in one application – in order to be MORE efficient. Ie. Multitasking, multipurposing. I don’t want to have to subscribe to different tracking devices in order to be informed of the same thing, frankly I have better things to do with my time! But that being said, I understand that ‘variety is the spice of life’ – no argument there! I just don’t think there’s a need for all this incessive tracking, where one application could be sufficient. That’s all!

  3. chipper HO February 24, 2008 at '2:59' #

    well…
    each application serves it own purpose…
    i use one over another…
    i slowly abandon the old after accepting the new…
    i facebook more…
    but when it comes to music i hit myspace…
    and well friendster is oblivous to me…
    i dont delicious cos i tab all my bookmarks as is…
    its no biggie if im on another COM…i usually rem my sources…
    i dont rem any of my 10 passwords…
    or 50 usernames…
    tho my computer is spose to be capable of storing that info…
    i have 7or8 emails…
    4 of which ive bookmarked…
    i have 2 blogs…i dont bother really tho…
    3or4 places i can internet chat…
    point…
    i hate the internet…
    i cant get off it…i cant live without it…
    its time consuming…
    it consumes me…
    theres a ton of options…
    there are ways to be more efficient…
    just know what you need…
    and forget the rest…editedit edit…
    PS-wtf is google reader????

  4. staffeen thompson February 24, 2008 at '3:32' #

    LOL! I love it…all of that and you “hate the internet”. Face it, you love it! 😉
    Ah, Google reader is basically a blog portal – so you can see updated blogs without having to go to each.

  5. Natasha V February 26, 2008 at '22:56' #

    An increase in the ability to communicate has resulted in an increase to have to manage those communications. Funny enough, I don’t know what Google reader is, or delicious – please don’t take my head off!

    I think my ignorance is what keeps me simple…

  6. staffeen thompson February 26, 2008 at '23:29' #

    I won’t take your head off 🙂 I think the key is to use what makes your life more efficient, otherwise it becomes a headache.

  7. Stuart February 28, 2008 at '16:25' #

    I’ve been through a lot of the stuff mentioned over the years and kind of come out the other side, partly by necessity. I think that it’s also useful to be aware and distinguish when new utilities on the Internet and also elsewhere in technology are more industry-led rather then filling an actual need in the public.

    Jeez – just how many passwords and pin numbers are we actually supposed to be able to memorise these days too!

  8. Andrew Careaga March 23, 2008 at '20:04' #

    You can actually use Google Reader, or any other RSS reader, to keep tabs on Twitter, del.icio.us, Technorati, keywords, etc. Just set up RSS feeds for everything. You can also try SocialThing.com to stream Facebook, Twitter and more.

Leave a Reply

