silence is golden, in the city

9 Apr

This morning I was among many people lined up for the Bay bus (with no sign of the Bay bus), when a man behind me randomly started trying to convert me into a believer. He went on and on about a book that he insists that I DEFINITELY need to read, because it will “change my life forever.” He said I should read it because Oprah said so.

Then he started on the extremes of politics, specifically about Obama and Clinton – all of this at 8:45 a.m. He continued to tell me random facts, instance by instance about what each has said towards the other during their campaign – telling me ‘the absolute truth’ about the election. And what’s worse is that everyone in the line up was giving me the, ‘look what you’ve started’ look.

As the monologue was getting to its most painful, I happened to notice my supervisor walking by, so we walked to work together. Good save.

Hint: When trying to persuade a perfect stranger about politics, religion, literature, or things of the sort, it’s best not to make absolute claims. That’s not persuasion – that’s irritating.

 

2 Responses to “silence is golden, in the city”

  1. chipper HO April 12, 2008 at '18:01' #

    haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa…
    the same man approached me last night…
    by same man i mean the lords man…
    he persuaded me to stand in the cold w him for prob an hour…
    at first i was amused…he seemed harmless and kind…
    just wanted to show me a castro portrait he drew…
    tho homeless and ranked of alcohol…
    he yammered to me about castro…and world politics…
    basically telling me mccain will be president and that the days are over…
    cos north korea russia china and japan are on the attack/prowl/coming outta hiding…
    eventually i got annoyed…he was gettin repetitive…
    and i didnt know how to tell the man…
    i just wanted to go home…
    mind you…tho im niether a communist (maybe part) nor a believer of the lord that he continually pointed up to…
    i must say…this man prob had the most intellectual of conversations (to himself) ive ever listened in on…
    self educated and well travelled i was persuaded enough that the world and america in general will pay their price…

  2. staffeen thompson April 12, 2008 at '19:10' #

    Well then he definitely chose the right person to divulge his ideas!

Leave a Reply

