They want you in the worst way…

8 Sep


Ode to TIFF

I’m gladly on your fringe—
though the vortex of you is becoming more & more seductive.
You are chaos.
And though I am on the outside looking in
I still feel the tireless rippling effects of your presence.
I felt it two weeks ago when everyone was preparing for your arrival…
and will feel it well into October when you’ve strayed
(possibly) leaving me hollow
& empty.
I have exhausted my festival fever with you.
The lavish.
The indulgence.
The glamour.
The expense.
The thought of those, too.
The spare-no-expense. The R.S.V.P.’s.
The incessant state of “What the?” coupled with,
a slight hysterical laughter of, “You’re kiddin’ me right?”
When I see the grand total.
You are my fortune, and I’m penniless.
I’ve started to contemplate giving up sleep because of you…
because why sleep when you can enjoy the hedonism that you deliver?
Why sleep when you can
I’m trying to reconcile your value to my day-to-day
your madness to my sanity.
But I sincerely can’t—
because I have to get up really early tomorrow morning
for work…

5 Responses to “They want you in the worst way…”

  1. chipper HO September 8, 2008 at '22:54' #

    is this a cut n paste email you had???
    fantastic…

    heheheh…

    lov it tho…

  2. Jolie September 9, 2008 at '1:29' #

    In the corner of the office, I sit in a desk in front of the window facing Roy Thompson Hall. I see the throngs of people waiting for rush seats or waiting for the stars to walk down the carpet…but I see it from afar, so I can completely relate to the ‘outside looking in’ part. I heard the screaming fans (yes, they were that loud) during my late night at work alone tonight. Wished I was one of them too…

  3. staffeen thompson September 10, 2008 at '2:37' #

    No, not a cut/paste, just my transient thoughts on the situation!

    Thanks for sharing yours guys! 😉

  4. Snooze September 24, 2008 at '1:43' #

    Good post Steffy! Now, next year take a week off and go north with me for Cinefest. A much better festival.

  5. cautious October 25, 2008 at '20:15' #

    yes my dear……. the excesses of the festival can be overbearing at times. My experiences in Halifax shortly after leaving university have been less jaded. I suspect it had more to do with knowing a few of the movers and shakers and feeling more a part of the “scene”. There is something to be said for small towns……

    found it! Zaki Ibrahim was great wasn’t she?

Leave a Reply

